BrownwoodNews – January is School Board Recognition Month, and Brownwood ISD will join the Texas Association of School Boards and other districts across the state to honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Texas schoolchildren and public schools.

[adrotate group=”8″]

“Our BISD school board members tackle a difficult job and they shoulder enormous responsibilities for our students,” said Brownwood ISD Superintendent, Dr. Joe Young. “These men and women are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for our Brownwood public schools.”

Board members serving Brownwood ISD are: Michael Cloy (Board President), Roderick Jones, Sr. (Board Vice President), Dr. Lisa Fowler (Board Secretary), Tim Jacobs (Parliamentarian), Diane Thompson and Eric Evans. 

Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this Board is responsible for an annual budget of $39 million, 3375 students, 580 employees, and 7 campuses.

“They provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they continue to stand up for public education,” stated Dr. Young. “I am proud to serve Brownwood with this outstanding group.”

In the above picture: Brownwood ISD School Board of Trustees (back, left to right) Tim Jacobs, Roderick Jones, Sr., Michael Cloy, Codie Smith, Eric Evans (front) Diane Thompson, Dr. Lisa Fowler